Upcoming Con: Silicon Valley Comic Con

So, there is a local convention (for me), coming around the corner: Silicon Valley Comic Con. While I don’t know what to expect, I am happy to say that this convention will have a lot to offer for me personally. Things I’m looking forward to:

  1. Speaking on a comic convention panel: This is probably the most exciting thing about this weekend. For anyone who has been in the audience of a panel has probably thought about what it would be like to be the one speaking on stage. I’ve had the pleasure of doing it once at FanimeCon, but this feel like a whole different ball game. While I always hope to skate by with little notoriety, this is a little different since it is a large sized convention. The topic is a great merger of my profession and my passions as I get to talk about using comics in the classroom, and I get to do it along side a couple of friends. Hopefully, I’ll see some of you there, and that we don’t disappoint. We’ll be in Room 6 at 4pm.Screenshot_2016-03-16-10-30-44-1
  2. “Superheavy” Batman test run: I think anyone that builds costumes has this in mind. We build for specific events, but given the opportunity, you do a dry run, to see how well it’ll hold up. In a future post, I’ll likely talk about some of our own experiences with our costumes and good learning experiences. I’m happy with the way this one came out, but there are a variety of things I need to learn in order to make better costumes.download_20160313_144936
  3. EndlessTees Premier: Jeanette’s brother Jimmy and his friend Leo are launching their design and apparel business at SVCC. This current run of designs are great for fans across the board featuring a few Star Wars mash ups, some killer designs, links to a classic game, and of course a design so cute, you’ll want to put it in your pocket. My personal favorite is the Kylo Ren design (it glows in the dark!!!) The designs look great, but don’t take my word for it, check them out for yourself. He is located at Booth #1017.2016-03-16 10.33.19
  4. Meeting people face to face: every convention is full of new and old faces. If you are a frequenter of conventions, you’ve likely seen a few familiar faces, or even people you now call friends. There are already people Jeanette and I have talked to through other outlets, so it’s going to be fun looking for the new faces among the old.

I hope that you guys have something to look forward to,if you’ll be attending. If not, there’s always the next convention. A review of our experience is soon to come.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

